RSS

My gear list for (up to) 7000m mountain climbs

06 Jan

This is a follow up post to a post I’m currently writing on fulfilling one of my lifetime dreams: climbing the 9 Summits of our planet’s 7 continents. But since that post is still in draft and nowhere near completion, I decided to share my equipment list for the first 6 summits (without Everest, Vinson Massif and Denali which require considerable more resources). Oh and you might wonder why 9 summits not 7? Because I’m including both Mont Blanc and Elbrus in Europe and both summits in Australasia: Mount Kosciuszko in Australia (Bass list)  and Puncak Jaya in Indonesia (Messner list):

The financial costs involved to summit all these peaks are very significant and I’m not referring only to gear. However since I am on a limited budget and I couldn’t afford to buy different sets of gear for each of my planned trips, I bought only 1 set divided into 4 layers. So when I’m trekking up to 5000m peaks, I’ll use 2-3 layers from it, up to 6000 I’d use 3-4 layers, and up to 7000m I’d use 4+1 where necessary. When the time comes for Antarctica and Everest, my main concern will be coming up with €35,000 for each expedition not another €2k of additional gear.. Therefore if you have climbed above 5000m or you stood on top of any of the 9 summits, please do share your thoughts and experience with me as I’m only a novice mountaineer on these high summits. Sincere thanks! 🙂

Hands:

Feet:

Head:

Body:

Legs:

First Aid kit:

  • Adventure MedKit plus:
  • Small portable WATER FILTER (from Lifestraw, SAWYER, Katadyn, Lifesaver etc)
  • Survival Emergency blanket
  • Altitude sickness (Diamox if needed for AMS, 250 mg every 12 hours)
  • Useful: Ciprofloxacin, Imodium, Aspirin, Antacids, Moleskin, Paracetamol, Antibiotics
  • Pain killers / anti-inflammatories: Diclofenac, Ibuprofen, Codeine.
  • Re-hydration salts (Dioralite)
  • Antiseptic cream, throat lozenges
  • 1m of Kinesiology Tape
  • 30+ sun tan lotion & anti burns lotion
  • Blisters & shoe burns dressing kit
  • Iodine crystals or tablets for water purification
  • Insect repellent spray/lotion
  • Insect after-Bite & Sting Cream
  • Disinfectant soap/shampoo
  • Gerber Bear Grylls Fire Starter Ferrocerium Rod and Metal Striker

Accesories: 

  • Rucksack 75-105L: Mountain Hardwear BMG 105
  • Climbing harness
  • Climbing hard hat
  • 2 locking and 3 regular climbing carabs
  • 4-8 small carabs for hanging gear
  • Ice axe: 75cm Black Diamond Raven Pro
  • Summer sleeping bag
  • Winter sleeping bag
  • Therm-a-Rest pad
  • Collapsible walking poles
  • Collapsible ski poles
  • -30C resistant WP headlamp & WP LED flash-light
  • 2 sets of batteries for each
  • ProTrek watch (with compass, altimeter, barometer, thermometer)
  • Expedition compass
  • Victorinox Swiss army knife
  • Paracord wrists bands
  • BG multitool
  • Light weight toilet articles
  • Toiler rolls + travel tissues
  • Small & Medium towels
  • Bowl and titanium spork +plastic/Al spoon
  • Gerber Bear Grylls Canteen Water Bottle with Cooking Cup
  • 1 plastic water bottle with saleable cap
  • Compressible dry sacks
  • Ear plugs
  • Very small mp3 player and ear phones
  • Skin money/IDs belt
  • Expedition GPS with cover (ie Garmin eTrex)
  • WP map of the area
  • Plastic sacks for rubbish
  • Pee bottle
  • Digital camera /w insulated cover
  • Smartphone /w insulated cover
  • Nokia light brick LBL backup phone
  • Small WP plastic bags
  • Small lock for the rucksack
  • Repair kit – (eg. needle, thread, small duct tape)
  • Optional swimwear (subarmor shorts which dry quick)
  • Spare laces
  • High power laser pointer (1Watt, green/red/blue)
  • Expedition tent and a large, thin, light and strong sheet of waterproof material which can fold to a tiny size.
  • Depending on the case, some legal self-defence tools (i.e. Farbgel or whatever is legal in the region) could come in handy.

Food:

  • Dry packs of mixed food
  • Tea bags
  • Sugar substitute
  • Lots of sweets and small chocolate bars
  • Vitamins and minerals

Well this is it for now. I’ll update the list as I go along. Thanks for reading and please do let me know what you think of my gear choices! Cheers 🙂

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2013 in Personal

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “My gear list for (up to) 7000m mountain climbs

  1. Nerom

    August 3, 2016 at 18:41

    Hey man, I stumbled upon your blog.
    I am glad you are aiming for the “7” summits, congrats for having the balls and good luck.
    I see this page is pretty old and I dont know how far are you down the list, but I have some comments.
    I am a fellow climber aiming to do exactly the same by the time Im 25.
    So far I have done 5 of them(Mont Blanc, Elbrus, Aconcagua, Kilimanjaro, Kosciuszko) so maybe my experience would be helpful.
    The only thing that really stands out in your list is your boots. The S6K would be fine for anything below 5000m(6000 if your lucky with the weather) but you are risking a lot with them going to Aconcagua. For anything over 5000 you are going to need a double boot. I personally have the la sportiva baruntse and swear by them, as do a lot of other climbers. But I have seen plenty of black toes to tell you that a single boot would not be enough. I also have the nepal evos and was more than happy with them, until we got a vicious storm on Elbrus and I found out that single boots are not not sufficient for anything over 5k. I was lucky I got away with it, but then bought a pair of Baruntse boots for anconcagua, because I decided the my toes were worth more than the 400E investment.. Now I know 400E boots is a lot of money for a novice mountaineer, but I advice to read a lot before you take the S6Ks to anconcagua. We try to keep our expeditions as low cost as possible, so my climbing partner decided to go to anconcagua with his nepal evos. We managed to climb it successfully(all toes in place) but we got EXTREMELY lucky with the weather and he used Hotronic insoles and a shitload of batteries.
    Some of the best value double boots I would recommend are the Baruntse, Spantik and the crispi mont blanc. Again I think the Baruntse are excellent and I would not change them for anything. Think of the as the double boot version of the nepal evos- bombproof. having a double boot would also give you the ability to do some serious winter climbing, or you can probably even use it for vinson or denali.

    Good luck with your endeavors and stay safe.
    Cheers

     
    • Ovi

      August 18, 2016 at 23:14

      Hey 2u2 and thanks a lot for your comments, kind words and most of all for your advice.
      Indeed, I completely agree with you in regards to the limitation of the S6K boots. They are very versatile and perfect for up to 5000 meters, but 6000m is indeed a lucky stretch.
      I will update this post when I get the chance.
      Best of luck to you too and please do keep in touch. I’m most interested in your mountaineering experience and would gladly welcome more tips from you.
      Cheers,
      Ovi

       

Leave a Reply

 
