RSS

A new beginning

24 Dec

   This is the time of the year when some people like to reflect on the last number of months of their life and make plans for the New Year(s). Due to my dislike for linearity and conformity, I personally gave up on making plans when I’m supposed to, or try meeting cliché expectations. Its not because I’m a nonconformist (not in a religious sense), its simply because I think and feel different. I personally prefer to reflect on the past and plan the future while living every apparently random moment of the present, but some people might not be as chaos-theory oriented as me and still like to dwell on the past or plan everything in advance (live a different timeline).

To be clear, I don’t think there’s anything wrong with planning in advance, as long as the expectations that go along with that are reasonable and you don’t get hurt easily. But there is something very wrong about living in the past and I will come back to that some other time. This time I’m going to share a few things I discovered on my digital travels and the reason why I’m writing this post is because I was inspired by an article I came across, on my G+ stream. I read it and I thought is a good writing but it also links to some other very good articles with the same truthful positive outlook. This proved to be another spark for my creative amateur writing skills and mixed with my idea to write an end of the year post with my ramblings, I ended up writing the following:

Even if I’m far from understanding life’s mechanics, I try my best to find structure and reason in its apparent randomness so I somewhat do believe in planing ahead, because if its done right, it helps an individual with goal orientation and achievement, pre-emptive solution findings, a “smoother ride”, personal development, possibly happiness and many many other things. Therefore we can safely agree that looking into your own life and coming up with an action plan for the near future is generally a good thing. On the other hand, reflecting on one’s past experiences and actually learning from them is also a good thing..right? Well it took me many years to understand and to learn how to live in the present and now I simply try my best to live in the moment. While I’m still struggling with this due to my tendency to project future possibilities, I think I’m learning more every day how to actually live. Without making this more complicated than it is, I’d like to share a glimpse of why I think its a good idea to live in the present, not to get stuck in memories or in dreams. Baz Luhrmann presents it beautifully in his video and lyrics so I’m just gonna keep it short with the other stuff.

I’m sure most people are familiar with the Fibonacci sequence but I’m not sure how many people know that Phi, the Golden Number (1.618…) is strongly connected with it and with absolutely everything else in nature. When I say everything else in nature, I mean that literally and it includes us humans as well.

If you’re interested in this topic you will find a lot of info about it on the Internet, I am not planning to copy-paste widely available free information. I will only post a list of videos that I think you should watch if you’d like a crash course on the beautiful natural balance of a world that is a lot more complex than meets the eye:

So what’s all this got to do with reflections, planning and living life in the present? I can only presume that the answer might be different to every reader but in my perspective, I think this has everything to do with how we perceive our life and our time here. You see, if our world is so complexly “engineered” to be in balance, all we have to do is stop messing it up and find our inner emotional and spiritual balance, because the physical is obviously taken care of since before we came into existence and will be taken care of long after we move on. I know its a lot easier said than done mainly due to social programming and economic interests across the globe, but if we want to live a better life, heck if want our children to have a life, we have to do it! Do we even have a choice? This involves learning from the past, thinking about the future, building a plan that is in balance with nature and then applying it in our present continuous. The present continuous to me is the balance on the timeline (past-present-future) for everyone and everything, with experiences and possibilities from all 3 dimensions considered. If we get stuck (obviously in our mind) living only in one, or consider only any given one, it will bring undesirable consequences for us. This is pretty much my point, the world is complex but in balance. We are just as complex but out of balance. If we learn from nature and our instincts how to find that equilibrium, then I believe we’ll also find happiness in any moment, any end of a year or beginning of a New One! 😉

Merry Christmas!
Athbhliain faoi mhaise duit!
Sarbatori fericite si un An Nou plin de bucurii!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 24, 2011 in Personal

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “A new beginning

Leave a Reply

 
